Access Keys:

Eastern Primary School, Port Talbot

Cross-Curricular Learning

Through topic based learning our children are taught literacy, numeracy and digital skills in a cross curricular way. Everything your child learns is connected to the six areas of learning:

  • Expressive arts

  • Health and well-being

  • Humanities

  • Languages, literacy and communication

  • Mathematics and numeracy

  • Science and technology

Learning focuses on things that matter to the children now and when they grow up. Each area of learning and experience contains statements of what matters which shape learning for children of all ages. These help your child think about what they’re learning and how topics link to each other, to work and to life. They also support your child to progress each year as they build their understanding and skills.

If you would like to find out more about the new curriculum and what it means for your child's learning click on the link to the parents guide below:

A guide to the new Curriculum for Wales